“Why did you come back?”

“Why on earth did you come back? ”  A question any Libyan who has spent a considerable amount of time outside Libya will get asked upon returning. Besides actual legal restraints such as visas, residencies, and finances, there is a reason why people return here.

 

Now living in Libya for a life time or a large amount of time can really blind you to the highlights of Libyan life, which do exist even if scarcely so.

Libya is a troubled country to say the least, what with our “the more the merrier” concept when it comes to politics resulting in three different government.  The unique hostile style with which daily affairs are  resolved successfully avoiding any communication of substance,  or the fact that our banks have failed at their one main job, have money!

But, it is also a country that has a hidden bright side. I thought I would be the last person to say this, but  I even missed things I never liked in the first place like Assida and Zimzamat!

What I think everyone can agree on is that Libya has such a unique atmosphere that can’t be easily duplicated. Beginning with our food, strange community which is a thing I am still struggling to understand (people get upset if they don’t get invited to your graduation even if you hadn’t spoken in five years) ,  music, shared love of complaining about the country’s state, and the excitement you get whenever a new business opens up. In a developed country like say, Britain,  no one gives much of a thought to a new small business opening up, however, in Libya, new businesses lift up the mood and just make everyone think that if someone can start a new business, things can’t be all that bad!

I am not sure where I was or am going with this, but it was a thought I wanted to share!

 

4 thoughts on ““Why did you come back?”

  1. I dislike this question because it always segues into the entire series of questions, including “Which do you like better, here or there?” or “Is it true that [insert weird myth about Western country]”? Overall though, spending time away from Libya gives you a whole new appreciation of the bright side that you mentioned. Great post!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I agree, these questions usually sound like some kind of social trap most of the time. As to Libya’s bright side, well distance has been proven to make the heart grow fonder. 🙂

      Like

  2. Libya is a strange place for me, I’m in a constant love and hate relationship with Libya. I love my inlaws, so, so, very much. I love my house in Libya, the weather, the sea, the clear blue skies and ease to be able to start a business and make money. But I hate a lot of things too. #1 driver they are crazy, have to rely on others to anything I need to do, and the instability of these times.
    The funny thing is if you ask me, what I like and hate about the western the list is pretty long too.

    Like

    1. I think that just like any other place, Libya has its pros and cons, and perhaps currently the cons outweigh the pros, but I have also tried being away from it and there is something unique to it that you just miss terribly. Although drivers here are mad, they are usually tolerable!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

